Your Public Relations and Communications Community
in Southwest Missouri.

SWMO PRSA Scholarships

2017-2018: PRSA Dr. Joe McAdoo Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship sponsors: 

The Southwest Missouri Public Relations Society of America (SWMO PRSA) is an organization that provides a friendly and active forum for sharing ideas and experiences among public relations professionals in the southwest Missouri area.
Dr. Joe McAdoo was a founder and past president of the Public Relations Association of Springfield (which evolved into SWMO PRSA) and former chair of the Department of Communication at Drury University.  He was committed to fostering educational opportunities that maintain the distinction and integrity of the public relations profession.  

The scholarship fund is managed by the Community Foundation of the Ozarks. 

The Scholarship:

One $1,500 scholarship will be awarded for the 2017-2018 academic year ($750 fall/$750 spring). 

The recipient also may attend SWMO PRSA monthly membership meetings and our annual professional development seminar free-of-charge (a $150 value) during the academic year.


Applicants must be an undergraduate student beginning the junior or senior year or a graduate student pursuing a degree in communication, public relations or a closely related area.
Applicants must be enrolled full-time (taking a least 12 credit hours per semester undergraduate, 9 hours graduate) at one of the following institutions:  College of the Ozarks, Drury University, Evangel University, Missouri State University, Missouri Southern State University, or Southwest Baptist University. 

Selection of the scholarship winner will be based on interest and involvement in communications, academic standing, and campus and/or community involvement.
The application process:

To apply students, should email the following application materials to Nicole Wisdom (  by March 10, 2017:
  • A completed application form
  • An updated resume (please emphasize items that highlight communication activities)
  • A 500-600 word essay (typed, double-spaced) describing how the Dr. Joe McAdoo Memorial Scholarship will assist the student in achieving academic and career goals. 
In addition, applicants must mail a copy of official, sealed transcripts* to this address:

SWMO PRSA Scholarship Selection Committee
P.O. Box 4807
Springfield, MO  65808

Materials must be postmarked by midnight on March 10, 2017.

*Check to see if your university works with National Student Clearing House for official transcript requests to save you a trip to the registrar’s office. 

For scholarship questions, contact committee chair Nicole Wisdom at 417-224-3195 or